Chevy Colorado Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone . Newbie here . Finally pulled the trigger in May . 2017 Canyon , SLT , 4x4 , 4 door , long bed , (Diesel of course ) , spray in bed liner , otherwise completely stock .
Bought the truck from Laura GMC . GREAT people , price , selection . I live in Wichita Falls , TX . No one in this area had any selection , no deals on $$ .
Anyway , on to towing thoughts . I have owned Tacomas , Tundra (4.7) , F250 Powerstroke , Titan , last tow vehicle 2010 Jeep Wrangler 4 door ( modified ) .
I currently pull a Forest River 19RR toy hauler , 4100 lbs empty , load equalizer hitch , sway control .
I tow in Tx twice a month with the rig loaded to 5500 lbs for 150 miles . Just got back from Taylor Park , Colorado with load of 5100 lbs . Raton Pass 7800 ft , La Veta Pass 9400 ft .
This truck is wonderful !! Set cruise on 70 , let her run. MPG 10 to 14 . Easy 55 up both passes , and only touched the brakes to set the exhaust brake coming down . Handles fine , only wish it had a 25 gal tank.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Congrats on your new 2.8L! I do agree on the fuel tank size. An optional larger tank would have been nice. My 2013 F150 5.0 had the optional 36 gal tank.

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
A larger tank would be nice. Never thought of that until now though =) I think the 2500HD's come with (or used to) a 26 gallon tank. Probably not a lot of room under there though with the DEF tank and the compact truck size.

We also bought our truck at Laura Buick GMC there in Collinsville. I think a lot of people come from pretty far away to buy from them, since they have such a selection and lower prices. We only live an hour and a half away so wasn't quite the drive your's was :)

Good to know that the truck handles so well going up and down steeper grades with a loaded trailer on behind it too.

·
Registered
1,384 Posts