Chevy Colorado Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I acquired a new addition to my car wash arsenal today. Thought I would share my thoughts. I'm no professional detailer, nor am I a perfectionist. But I hate bucket washing and the $10 drive thru car wash does a terrible job.

Mtm hydro professional foam cannon with mtm407 pistol grip sprayer. Part number 14.5005 (~$70) freakin love this thing. Tomorrow I'll be using it to clean the siding on the house.

Running this thing with a mi-t-m 4000 psi 3.4 gpm pressure washer with a Honda gx390 12hp engine.

Using mr pink car shampoo from chemical guys. Reason I use this stuff is because This stuff is ph balanced so you can wash in direct sunlight with no water spots. My driveway is direct afternoon sun and it was 87° No water spots !! 2oz of the shampoo in the bottle, rest filled with cold water. This made enough foam to foam both of our cars with thick thick foam. Yes, only 2oz.

The more psi your rig makes, the thicker foam you get from it. The thicker the foam, the longer it "hangs" on the car.

Washing procedure is similar to bucket washing, except you sling the foam on the car, and your bucket has clean cold water in it instead of dirty soapy water. Pre rinse with a 40° Nozzle, high pressure to get any grit off. then foam, then use your wash mitt to wash the car like normal, then rinse, then dry with a meguiars water magnet towel.

Foam cannon in action

After.
IMG_6192.JPG
IMG_6193.JPG

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Amazon, and yes it needs at least 1000 or so psi to work. The more, the merrier. Higher pressures make more foam. From what I've heard, there are garden hose foamers but they're not gonna have a little less oomph.

And thanks!

·
Registered
27 Posts
I bought the foam cannon w/ wash soap, microfiber wash mitt and drying towel from Chemical Guys, yet to use them tho, waiting on better weather.