Chevy Colorado Diesel Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
I had to do some research before I answered this. I'm no expert on fuels, but I'm going to say that I would personally not do it.

A piece I took from this article:
--------------------------------------------------------
So, some people have this idea that they can use Jet-A fuel in their diesel engines.

Not the best idea, people.

This fuel is made specifically for airplanes, and there is a reason that led was phased out of the fuel we use in our cars. Even though some older cars have engines that can handle the lead in aviation fuel, it's not recommended that you use the same fuel that powers these massive planes.

There are still some big differences between diesel and Jet-A. For starters, there's a higher level of sulfur and other additives-including cetane, and the cetane number-in Jet-A than is allowed in your diesel. This could lead to fines and may even damage your engine.

While it would probably work well enough to power your car, it wouldn't give you the performance you want in the long run. At the end of the day, it's just best to use the fuel that's made for your vehicle, no matter how strong the temptation is to give jet fuel a try.

And just as you shouldn't use jet fuel in your truck, you shouldn't use automotive engine oil in aircraft piston engines, either.

Here is the whole article for reference: https://aviationoiloutlet.com/blog/exactly-jet-fuel-can-use-diesel/
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The fact that there is lead in it (don't think there is any in modern diesel, definitely not any in UN-leaded gas) and that it has high sulfur content much like older diesel used to, I wouldn't use it. Our little engines are finnicky as is and made to run on ULSD fuel. High sulfur and lead in Jet-A doesn't sound like it would work well for someone with our 2.8.

·