Chevy Colorado Diesel Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone using the RoadMaster Active Suspension? I have not modified anything on my 2018 Z71 4WD Short Box and am towing about 6000. All seems good, but I feel like I am getting more rear bounce than I would like over dips and bumps in the road and am looking for a way (s) to beef up the rear suspension a bit and am looking for what is working best for others.
BTW - have heard good reviews on the airlift bags, but found out they will not fit in a Colorado diesel, gas yes, diesel no.. reason is gas tank size and extra space for exhaust....

·
Registered
143 Posts
I have been using the RAS on my 2017 Z71 4WD Diesel for about 7 months now and am very happy with it. I have a Leer shell and a few hundred pounds of crap in the bed and wanted to get the factory posture back on my truck and deal with all the extra weight.

There were a few lessons learned on the installation;

1. If your headlights are already properly aimed then that will change so before you start park your truck about 4-6 feet from a wall or garage door and mark where your headlights are aimed/hitting because after you're done adjusting the springs you will want to adjust the headlights back to that point again (before driving it of course else you will need to mark your front wheel position to return to that spot/distance). There is only an up/down adjustment on the Colorado and its a simple top Phillips screw adjustment with the hood open.

2. I did not need the included rear leaf spring replacement hanger brackets on mine, I had adequate space with the OEM bracket for the RAS springs to hook over the end of the leaf spring eye. You do still have to drop the rear of the leaf spring however so plan on some creative fun with jacks.