Chevy Colorado Diesel Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to forum be gentle.
I have a 2003 Dodge Ram 5.9 cummins I have known not to tow in overdrive and I have observed the EGT
go 1500 deg so I take it out of overdrive. Question in tow mode will the Colorado keep you out of to high a gear.
to prevent excessive EGT?

·
Registered
180 Posts
I believe tow/haul mode lets the trans. shift at a higher engine RPM and turns on the Exhaust Brake function. I guess you could shift it manually and that might keep the EGT's lower, if it worries you. I haven't towed with mine yet, so I have no real world experience as of yet. :) Mac

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
Tow/ Haul won't let you in to 6th gear. However, the transmission can start to get warm when you run 70 mph in 5th gear for extended times. On the highway, I would advise turning tow haul off if you don't need it, as it usually needed for taking off and slowing down, or going through hilly terrain. If it's flat and you can hold 5th or 6th most of the time, I would turn tow/ haul off. Turn it back on when you need it or need to slow down to exit the highway.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Tow/ Haul won't let you in to 6th gear. However, the transmission can start to get warm when you run 70 mph in 5th gear for extended times. On the highway, I would advise turning tow haul off if you don't need it, as it usually needed for taking off and slowing down, or going through hilly terrain. If it's flat and you can hold 5th or 6th most of the time, I would turn tow/ haul off. Turn it back on when you need it or need to slow down to exit the highway.