Chevy Colorado Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i know old school methods and ways of thinking don't really apply to these new fancy vehicles, but I've always been told that you want trans fluid to stay under 200° with 180°-195° being the magic number. I've always ran a cooler and a gauge on any automatic trans vehicle I've ever had (albeit, not many) this is my first time not having a dedicated trans cooler.

That being said, my Colorado was reading 200° the other day on a trip around town, no towing and about 78° ambient.

The 6L50 runs dexron vi which is very resistant to thermal breakdown and the trans doesn't have shift bands, and also is able to run with the torque converter locked up most of the time.

I don't think I should be worried but just wondering if anybody else has been seeing high ish trans temps??

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Stayed low on the way home from work, about 125°, but that was only 9 miles from the shop to the house not much traffic 79° ambient

·
Registered
128 Posts
ive only had my trans temps reach 198 on a 300 mile trip running about 85mph. that was before I had the truck tuned. since the tune ive never seen it exceed 180 and its usually closer to 160

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
I would say that's not too bad. Would like to see it a little cooler though. My 2004 LLY Duramax would get up to 190-200 when pulling anhydrous tanks in the summer or when we took a gooseneck trailer full of atv's down to Tennessee to ride. Different transmission totally, but for being a little truck and transmission, that doesn't seem that bad.

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
After it got this hot I took off tow haul/exhaust brake and it shifted to 6th and cooled off a little.

IMG_6281.JPG

·
Registered
1,018 Posts