Chevy Colorado Diesel Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know many folks on his forum have skills ranging from reloading to log cabin restoration to tuning and more.

How many novice or expert welders it fabricators do we have out there? Novice, self taught here.

About 12 years ago I bought my first welder to do some small projects on my first jeep. Making brackets for air tanks, repairing exhaust and such. It was a beginner machine and served me well through the years. Lincoln 115v Home Depot special. Most of that time it was loaded with flux core wire and remained portable. We would take it to the trails and did some work that it wasn’t rated for and it always came through in a pinch. Welding driveshafts or cracked frames even. Eventually outfitted it for mig and continued to use it with good results.

I’ve been building a new rock crawler and a new skill I’ve picked up is tube bending. I picked up a very high quality tube bender for cheap second hand. jD squared model 3, outfitted it with swag Offroad’s hydraulic ram mount and added an air operated hydraulic ram so it runs like a dream. My v-twin belt drive air compressor does the work instead of my arms. Also, a big advantage of a hydraulic bender is that it doesn’t need to be bolted to the floor in the middle of the shop. I have mine welded to an old engine hoist stand so i can roll it back to the corner when not using it.

Building a roll cage and bumpers has been a lot of fun becuase it requires a lot of thinking and developing new skills. Multiple bends in the same plane requires attention to detail while bends on multiple planes requires repeatable accuracy.