Chevy Colorado Diesel Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Currently running WIX air filters on my Civic, but going to have to switch it up and put one in the truck too, rather than the AC Delco.

Glad I never got on the K&N band wagon.

·
Registered
160 Posts
I always knew K&N sucked when it comes to stopping dirt, but wow, K&N sucked even more than I imagined. PF is awesome by the way. That guy's nerdy brain operates at a much higher frequency than mine.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I would never buy a flat pleated air filter from anyone anymore. That filter was designed to replace the OEM filter. Instead the air box and install an air box that will accept a cone shaped filter. These types of filters have more surface area for the air to pass through. Also never take a brand new K&N (or similar type of wet filter) and install it dry. Spray a light coat of filter oil on it. I've been using K&N type filters for over twenty five years and never had any turbocharger or fuel system issues due to dirty air.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Well, when I do change filters (only 13,500 now), it will be STP, Fram or Wix. An OEM equivalent will do me just fine, I believe!

·
Registered
65 Posts
So the 'tests' seem to indicate, however I wonder about the validity of this particular series of YouTubes. They provide information, but, at least for me, don't absolutely direct my decisions.
In any event, I already bought several STPs months ago on a sale at AutoZone, and in my backwoods adventures will be changing them at no more than 15,000 mi intervals. To me, cheap insurance!

·
Registered
65 Posts
After responding to your post, I decided to look at0 my air filter, even though I just had my last 'free' oil change at 13,342 mi, and there was no adverse comment on the inspection report.